About Us

Management Committee

Most Rev. Michael F. Burbidge, D.D. Ed.D.
Bishop, Diocese of Arlington

Most. Rev. Barry C. Knestout 
Bishop, Diocese of Richmond

*Most Rev. Paul S. Loverde D.D., S.T.L., J.C.L.
Bishop Emeritus, Diocese of Arlington (non-voting)

Jeffrey F. Caruso, J.D.
Executive Director, Virginia Catholic Conference (non-voting)

Rev. Thomas Ferguson
Vicar General and Moderator of the Curia, Diocese of Arlington

Dale Fickett
Executive Director, RVA Works

Janet Vestal Kelly
Principal, Cardinal Consulting, LLC

Robert J. Smith, Esq.
RJSmith Legal Counselors, PLLC

August Wallmeyer
President, August Wallmeyer Communications, Ltd.

*Founding Bishop

*Most Rev. Francis X. DiLorenzo, D.D.,S.T.D.,
Bishop, Diocese of Richmond, died August 17, 2017





Policy Subcommittees

The Management Committee is assisted in its work by two policy committees, composed of Catholics with expertise in various fields and Conference staff, that research and propose legislative policies for consideration:

Respect Life, Health and Social Concerns Policy Committee – Elizabeth Schiavone, Chair

Education Policy Committee – Chair (currently vacant)

Join our email network

Imagine 700,000 Virginia Catholics standing together for life, justice, family and the common good.